Warm rain

A thunderstorm blessed us last night. It woke me up from a restless, nightmare-punctuated sleep. The solitary window in my room was awash with raindrops, and rattled each time a bolt of thunder streaked across the night sky. I inhaled deep the perfume of wet earth, and tried to catch some drops of warm rain on my tongue.

Intoxicated, gleeful, I returned to my comfortless bed. The new dawn came kissed with the aftermath of the storm. The new dawn came cool and beautiful…

 Summer’s fire is quelled for the day. Who knows what will happen tomorrow?

One thought on “Warm rain

Leave a Reply

