Visions

My grandmother told me once, when as usual I pestered her about families and histories.

“My family came from Takht Hazara.”

I looked it up on the net. It is where Majnu came from. I told her this.

“Did he also come to India after 1947?”

I looked into her 96 year-old eyes, withered from a lifetime of seeing.

“Majnu, the fabled lover,” I whispered.

“Oh, I thought it was a person….”

She closed her eyes. She seemed to sleep. Then, suddenly, vehemently, “Why do you ask so much? The visions don’t come anymore.”

“Visions, what do you mean?” I asked.

“My grandmother, visions came to her. Celestial beings indicated to her what was going to happen. She died before I was born. She wasn’t there in 1947… Otherwise, maybe, somehow, we would have known….”

But the visions, they don’t come anymore…

Leave a Reply

